Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

09 December 2019

CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Children's Book Awards

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards. They are awarded annually by children's librarians for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people (The CILIP Carnegie Medal) and for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people (The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal).

Nominations are made by members of CILIP, the library and information association. Up to 2 titles can be nominated for one or both awards by CILIP members. The books  are judged solely by librarians but in one of the main national reading for pleasure initiatives, the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Awards Shadowing scheme engages thousands of children and young people in reading the books on the shortlist.

The Medals are awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, with a longlist announced in February, shortlists in March and the medal winners announced at a June ceremony.

In 2016, CILIP and Amnesty International UK launched the inaugural Amnesty CILIP Honour. The Amnesty CILIP Honour is judged by a separate panel of judges convened by Amnesty International UK.

The call for nominations is in September. For more about the awards, see the Carnegie Greenaway website.


2019 medals

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo (Electric Monkey) is the winner of the 2019 Carnegie Medal for writing.

The Lost Words illustrated by Jackie Morris and written by Robert Macfarlane (Hamish Hamilton) is the winner of the 2019 Kate Greenaway Medal for illustration.


2018 medals

The longlists were published on 15 February and the shortlists on 15 March. Rook by Anthony McGowan, published by Edinburgh-based Barrington Stoke, was one of the shortlisted books.

The winners were announced at a ceremony on 18 June.