Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

09 December 2019

Callum Macdonald Memorial Award

In 2018 the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award drew to a close after 17 years. Set up in 2001 in memory of literary publisher Callum Macdonald MBE, it has been supported by the Michael Marks Charitable Trust and administered by the National Library of Scotland.

The annual Callum Macdonald Memorial Award was for the publisher of an outstanding example of pamphlet poetry published during the year. The pamphlet or its publisher had a connection with Scotland or Scottish culture.

Established in 2001 in memory of Callum Macdonald MBE, Scottish literary publisher and founder of Macdonald Publishers and Printers, this award was created to encourage, recognise and reward the publication of poetry in pamphlet form.

In rewarding a publisher, rather than a poet, it was a unique award in Scotland.

The award was founded by Callum Macdonald's widow, Tessa Ransford OBE, who died in September 2015. She was a poet and founder of the Scottish Poetry Library, and an energetic supporter and campaigner for poetry in Scotland.

For details, see the National Library of Scotland website.


Borders-based poet and publisher Leonard McDermid has won the 2018 award for his poetry pamphlet 'Landway'.