Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

09 December 2019

Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction

Formerly known as The Samuel Johnson Prize (1999 - 2015), it is the most prestigious non-fiction prize in the UK and worth £30,000 to the winner. The Baillie Gifford Prize aims to reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

It was announced at the end of 2015 that Edinburgh-based investment management partnership Baillie Gifford was to become primary sponsor. The agreement with Baillie Gifford will provide substantial support over an initial period of five years, which will enable the prize to build its profile and impact, both nationally and internationally. The award was renamed 'The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-fiction'. 

Submissions are in spring, the shortlist will be announced in October, with the winner revealed in November. For more about the prize, see its website.


2017 Prize

David France won the 2017 Prize for How to Survive a Plague (Picador).


2018 Prize

The 2018 shortlist included Amateur: A True Story About What Makes a Man by Thomas Page McBee (Canongate Books). Serhii Plokhy won the 2018 Prize for Chernobyl: History of A Tragedy.


2019 Prize

The submissions deadline for the 2019 Baillie Gifford Prize is 12 June. Publishers may enter up to three non-fiction books per imprint.