Skip to main content

The network for trade,
training and development 

12 November 2019



Notice of Annual General Meeting 2019

Notice is hereby given that the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Company for 2019 will take place at Scott House, Edinburgh, EH2 2AZ on Thursday 28 November at 12.30pm for the purpose of transacting the following business:

1.  Minutes
To receive and approve the Minutes of the previous AGM held 29 November 2018. (Resolution 1)

2. To receive and adopt the Financial Statements, including the trustees' report for the year ended 31 March 2019. (Resolution 2)

3. To re-appoint the auditors, Wylie and Bissett of 168 Bath St, Glasgow, G4 2TP and to authorise their remuneration.  (Resolution 3)

4. To approve the appointment and co-option of trustees. (Resolution 4)

5. Other Business

To transact such other business as may be properly transacted at an AGM.



Consolidated Accounts 2017-2018

Our most recent consolidated accounts can be downloaded as a PDF: consolidated accounts 2017-2018.


Publishing Scotland's Articles of Association

Adopted by Special Resolution dated 9 December 2015

Publishing Scotland was incorporated in 2007. Its Articles of Association (PDF) were amended in 2015.


Annual Report 2017-2018

Our most recent annual report can be downloaded as a PDF: annual report 2017-2018.


Publishing Scotland's Board

During 2018 one trustee, Jonny Gallant (formerly of Alban Books), stepped down from office and Fiona McParland of APS was elected unopposed. The Publishing Scotland Board has up to 12 members: five directors drawn from the publisher membership; two from the network membership; and up to four co-opted members plus the Chief Executive. The Board meets approximately four times a year.
According to our revised Memorandum and Articles of Association, any directors who have served for a period of three years shall retire from office at the AGM but shall then be eligible for re-election for a further three years.   

There is provision to co-opt up to four Board members from outside the publishing sector.

The current Board (as from December 2018)

  • James Crawford: Chair
  • Kate Gibb, Canongate Books (PUBLISHER): Treasurer
  • Davinder Bedi, BookSource (CO-OPTED)
  • Simon Brown, Anderson Strathern (CO-OPTED)
  • Fiona Brownlee, Brownlee Donald Associates (NETWORK)
  • Moira Forsyth, Sandstone Press (PUBLISHER)
  • Chani McBain, Floris Books (PUBLISHER)
  • Timothy Wright, Edinburgh University Press (PUBLISHER)
  • Fiona McParland, APS (NETWORK)
  • Marion Sinclair, Publishing Scotland


There are also two committees: Trade and Marketing and Training

The members of the Trade and Marketing Committee are:

  • Fiona Brownlee, Brownlee Donald Associates
  • Naomi Farmer, Edinburgh University Press
  • Suzanne Kennedy, Floris Books
  • Kirstin Lamb, Barrington Stoke
  • Gavin MacDougall, Luath Press
  • Marion Sinclair, Chief Executive, Publishing Scotland
  • Vikki Reilly, Marketing and Events Manager, Publishing Scotland


The members of the Training Committee are:

  • Ann Crawford, National Galleries of Scotland
  • Leah McDowell, Floris Books
  • Sarah Mitchell, HarperCollins
  • Susan Pacitti, Glasgow Museums Publishing
  • Andrea Joyce, Canongate
  • Christine Wilson, Historic Environment Scotland
  • Marion Sinclair, Chief Executive, Publishing Scotland
  • Joan Lyle, Training and Information Manager, Publishing Scotland



Publishing Scotland is a registered charity (SC009404), governed by a main Board of Trustees with responsibility for overall policy setting and financial matters. We are also a company limited by guarantee (SC317586).



Publishing Scotland acknowledges the generous support from Creative Scotland, and is also funded partly by annual subscriptions from the membership, and by earned income from activities and revenue from the trading subsidiary, BookSource.